Completed procedures are moved into history when you close the month in Easy Dental. This protects them from being changed, because when a completed procedure is moved into history, it cannot be edited or deleted. This does not mean, however, that an error in history cannot be corrected. To provide a correction, the incorrect procedure must be invalidated and then replaced with a corrected version.
When a procedure is invalidated, the paint colors in the Chart associated with the invalidated procedure are removed and the related progress notes entry for the procedure are also removed so the patient’s record is accurate.
Please note: This tip focuses on how to invalidate a completed procedure, and re-post a corrected, backdated procedure so the clinical record is accurate. There will be a tip next week on how to invalidate a procedure from the Accounts module, which will include steps on how to post payment adjustments (as needed) as well as re-posting a corrected, backdated procedure, so your financial records are accurate.
To invalidate a procedure from the Chart:
- In the Chart, select a patient and double-click the completed procedure to be invalidated.
- Make note of the specific information about the procedure (such as date, tooth, surfaces, provider, etc.) if you will be re-posting a corrected procedure.
- In the Validate/Invalidate Procedure in History window, mark Invalidate Procedure.
- Click OK to return to the Chart.
- If needed, re-post the corrected procedure in the Chart, making sure to edit the procedure date to reflect the date the procedure was originally completed, so your clinical records are accurate.
For additional information, see the Invalidating Procedures in History topic in Easy Dental Help.